Tuesday, 14 June 2016

Pakistan tour kicks off with two games v Eng Academy

The Pakistan tour of England kicks off this week with two 50 over warm-up games against the England Academy in Loughborough. On Wednesday they play at the Loughborough Carillon CC (now cancelled) and on Friday at Loughborough University ground.

With Pakistan having not played in England for three years they will be hoping that their batsmen can spend some time at the crease, getting used to English conditions, and their bowlers can get a few overs in their legs. As for the England management they will be hoping the Academy bowlers can give Pakistan a hostile welcome, and their batsmen knock off any runs with the minimum of fuss.

Following on from these games the Pakistan team play three ODIs (all of which count towards the ICC Women's Championship) and then three T20s. Details on all the games are below, with links for ticket sales.

There are six changes from the Pakistan squad that last played 50 over cricket in the Caribbean last October, winning one of their four ODIs. Bismah Maroof, Nahida Khan, Muneeba Ali, Sadia Yousuf, and wicket-keeper Sidra Nawaz were all in the Pakistan WWT20 squad. The only new cap is 24 year old Aiman Anwar. Sana Mir will continue to captain the ODI side, but she has handed over the T20 reins to the experienced Bismah Maroof. Javeria Khan, who broke her thumb at the WWT20 is also fit and returns to the squad.

England will be heavy favourites to win both the ODI and T20 series, but they are a team in transition, without Charlotte Edwards, Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor, and are under the new leadership of Heather Knight. There may well be a few new faces on the field for England with Fran Wilson and Alex Hartley likely to get an opportunity to show what they can do. Batting seems to be the weakest suit of both teams, but England have the advantage of playing in their home conditions, and being in the middle of their season. Pakistan will do well to get close to a win.

Pakistan ODI and T20 squad: Javeria Khan, Nahida Khan, Sidra Ameen, Bismah Maroof (T20 capt), Muneeba Ali, Sana Mir (ODI capt), Nida Dar, Iram Javed, Asmavia Iqbal, Anam Amin, Sania Iqbal, Sadia Yousuf, Aiman Anwer, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Nain Abidi


15 June - 10.30am - 50 over warm-up v England Academy - Loughborough Carillon CC

17 June - 10.30am - 50 over warm-up v England Academy - Loughborough University

20 June - 2.00pm - ODI at the Fischer County Ground, Grace Road, Leicester - tickets

22 June - 10.30am - ODI at New Road, Worcester - tickets

27 June - 10.30am - ODI at the Cooper Associates County Ground, Taunton - tickets

3 July - 2.30pm - T20I at Bristol County Ground - tickets

5 July - 2.00pm - T20I at the Ageas Bowl, Southampton - tickets

7 July - 6.30pm - T20I at the Essex County Ground, Chelmsford - tickets


No comments:

Post a Comment