Tuesday, 1 November 2016

ICC Women's Championship - Final Round

The inaugural ICC Women's Championship concludes this month as the final round of games are played. The current standings look like this

Please note we have given Pakistan 6 points for their unplayed series against India, although this has not been officially confirmed.

The final round of games are :-

New Zealand v Pakistan starting on 9th November

Sri Lanka v England starting on 9th November

India v West Indies starting on 10th November

Australia v South Africa starting on 18th November

As you probably know by now the top four teams automatically qualify for next year's World Cup, while the bottom four must go the ICCWC Qualifier in Colombo in February (more on that here).

Australia have already qualified as winners of the Championship. England need just one point in Sri Lanka to secure their place, and one win for the West Indies in India will ensure that they are England next year too. New Zealand need two wins against Pakistan to be sure to be the fourth team through. In order for South Africa to get through they will have to win at least two of their games against Australia and hope that teams above them fail to win the required games. Just one loss to Australia would ensure both England and West Indies are through, come what may. Two losses for South Africa would mean that New Zealand would also definitely be there.

It looks likely therefore that Australia, England, West Indies and New Zealand will qualify, and that South Africa, Pakistan, India and Sri Lanka will have to fight it out with Bangladesh, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, Thailand, Scotland and Zimbabwe for the four remaining slots, and entry to the ICC Women's Championship 2017-2020.


No comments:

Post a Comment